O’Hara Leadership Award

O’Hara Leadership Award

The O’Hara Leadership Award in Education was created in 2008 in honor of long-time DMAW and DMAW/EF leader, Michael O’Hara.  Mr. O’Hara played a pioneering role in direct response fulfillment and started the AB&C Group in 1972.  He had a life-long commitment to education, which earned him an honorary Ph.D from Shepherd University in 2000.

The selection committee considers courses taught that focus on or include direct interactive marketing, the numbers of years teaching marketing, average number of students in class and why the professor believes it is important to educate college students in direct/interactive marketing.  Participation in marketing competitions by students is also considered.

For consideration or to nominate a professor for the  O’Hara Leadership Award please complete the application and submit to the DMAW Educational Foundation.

Recent Recipients

2021: Professor Canessa Collins, James Madison University

2020: Dr. Janna Parker, James Madison University

2019: Dr. John “Andy” Wood, James Madison University

2018: Professor Jeff Kulick, George Mason University

2017: Dr. Matt H. Hettche, Christopher Newport University

2016: Professor Paula Morris, Salisbury University

2015: Professor Michael Clayton, American University

2014:  Professor Theresa Clarke, James Madison University

2013:  Professor Jim Doyle, American University

2012:  Dr. Marilyn Liebrenz-Himes, George Washington University

2011:  Dr. Pamela L. Alreck, Salisbury University

2010:  Dr. Margaret A. Mi, University of Mary Washington

2009:  Dr. Tracy L. Tuten, East Carolina University

2008:  Dr. Lisa Spiller, Christopher Newport University